Carrot Cake II

Carrot Cake II

This really wasn’t I had intended to make. After the success with the first carrot cake recipe, I had planned to adapt it with a tropical touch including banana and coconut oil.

So I bought a bunch of Dole bananas, and (un)fortunately, before launching into cake-baking, I ate one of the bananas on its own. Within a few bites, I was having the worst fruit/veg reaction I’d had in a many, many months when the inside of my mouth starting itching. Ever since the food intolerances became a major problem last June, I’d noticed mild oral itching to bananas (including fried bananas, goreng pisang) and stayed away since then. After such a long period of banana-avoidance I expected the food sensitivity to improve but not at all! Bananas don’t have high levels of salicylates (and I can tolerate reasonable amounts of just about all other fruits and vegetables now, so salicylates aren’t a big problem for me anymore), and I don’t have severe intolerance to amines - unless it’s the amines in cheese that give me this terrible reaction. Banana allergy is well-documented (see also here): it’s classified as either reaction to birch-tree pollen or latex allergy and allergenicity increases with ripeness. However, I don’t think I react to the other substances in either of those categories though. Anyway, whatever it is, this was another crucial food challenge for me. It’s a good thing I didn’t go through the effort of making the cake only to find I couldn’t eat it. Goodbye, bananas ;_;!

Then I discovered there was only one egg left in the fridge and there was simply no time to go out and get some more. I had run of snacks to eat and was in the middle of a really hectic few days, so I really had to bake something during that window of time I’d managed to squeeze out. With a quick internet search, I ended up with this super-easy carrot cake recipe from Delia Smith that only needed one egg!

As with every recipe I attempt,  I reduced the amount of sugar; for this cake: 33g instead of 75g. My general rule is about a third or a quarter of the recipe quantity but I also judge by sight, comparing the amount of sugar with the amount of flour and other ingredients.

I replaced 1/3 cup of vegetable oil with coconut oil, not wanting to overwhelm the cake with coconut flavour by using entirely coconut oil, but in the end, I couldn’t taste it at all!

Being too lazy to make the cream cheese frosting. I simply slathered the cream cheese directly onto the cake. Guess that’s also a good way to cut down on the sugar and butter content! Unfrosted cakes also travel better in bento.

Quite unlike the previous carrot cake I baked, this one uses the muffin method of mixing, and specifies that dark brown sugar be used. Like Delia Smith’s other carrot cakes, it uses wholemeal flour (great!). These elements produced a closer, denser texture and dark colour more akin the heavy carrot cakes I like, but overall it wasn’t an outstanding cake. I would prefer to experiment with other carrot cake recipes rather than bake this one again.

One Response

  1. Carrot cake looks fabulous. Hey niceties, sad to hear you re allergic to bananas, such a yummy food.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

