Making salted eggs II

One of the very earliest things I wrote about on this blog was making Chinese sated eggs at home (as well as a good reason to do so). Eight months and four batches of a dozen eggs later, I’m extremely happy with my eggs but have realised that the eggs do not keep so well once they have been removed from the brine (I use five weeks of soaking in brine).

The first week out of the brine, they have beautiful, bright orange yolks with an even tone. Three or four weeks later, they look like this:

img-71044.jpg

Notice that the yolks have become a strange colour and developed an uneven texture. The whites also taste more salty than before. Overall, the taste is still fine and I enjoy my homemade eggs very much, not to mention feeling reassured that there are no unwanted artificial colours or preservatives and having sense of satisfaction of having made them myself.

The solution is to make a smaller batch of salted eggs each time and try to finish them within two weeks. As it takes five weeks to make them, one might start a mini-production line and have a few lots of eggs at different stages of the process.

However, that means finding space to lay out the all bowls of brine. They do get a bit sticky on the outside of the container and there may be flakes of crystallised brine so you’ll want a hardy kitchen surface, or else a plastic tray to place beneath the bowls if it’s a surface that needs protecting. Perhaps if one has a set of large stackable containers, you can use those for soaking and stack them vertically to save space, with the eggs that will be ready first put on the top.

salted-egg-b2.jpg

2 Responses

  1. I love salt eggs (LOVE nibbling on them while eating shao-mei rice), but I never have thought about making my own! I feel very inspired after reading your post. :)

  2. I always salt my eggs no matter how I make them, so if I make up some salted eggs like this, they’ll probably taste great. And I’ll have another short-term way to preserve food without a fridge, which is always a concern where I live because thunderstorms, tropical storms, or the dreaded hurricanes knock out our power so easily, and it’s always hot after the storms pass (I had to buy ice just last week after having no power for about 6 hours, luckily it wasn’t a wide-spread outtage, or I wouldn’t have found ice to buy).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

