Gluten-free date & nut drop scones

A big thank you to Pattycake for this terrific recipe! My family has been enjoying them as well, which is amazing because my ‘alternative’ baking usually does not go down well with them :D — proof of the success of this recipe.

What’s amazing is also the combination of healthy grains: brown rice flour, chickpea/garbanzo bean flour, as well as flax seed meal!

I got some dates from the fresh fruit section of the supermarket. There are several different varieties in both Cold Storage and NTUC. As a dried fruit, dates are not recommended for those avoiding high salicylate foods or on an anti-candida diet.

My tweaks:
– reduced maple syrup from 4 Tbs to 2 Tbs. With only 2Tbs, maple syrup taste is very subtle, probably wouldn’t have noticed if I’d omitted it altogether.
– anyway, the dates are so sweet, there’s no need for any additional sweetener! I can’t even eat these these jam because the sweetness would be overwhelming.

Have a look at the wonderful texture:

4 Responses

  1. You’re welcome! Great to hear the family digs them too. Lovely photos as well :-)

  2. Thanks for the great recipe, Patty :)!

  3. Aloha!
    I am unable to open your Gluten-free date & nut drop scone recipe. Could you possibly send it to me by email? It looks enticing and I am sure even my husband would like it. (I have an iMac).

    Appreciate hearing from you. Thank you and kind regards,

    Ingrid (Salmon)
    isalmon@hawaii.rr.com

    P.S. As a traveler who has lived in many countries, your website is most interesting. Also, my husband is Asian and we like all Asian foods.

  4. Dear Ingrid,

    Thank you for your kind comments, glad that you and your husband find my website interesting.

    The recipe should be readable on a Mac too as it’s on Pattycake’s blog. Try this URL:
    http://www.pattycake.ca/recipes/wheatfreedatenutscones

    All the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

