Sorghum scones (gluten-free)

Happy Lunar New Year and wishing everyone good health (isn’t that the most important thing?) in the Year of the Ox ^_^!

Here is quick bread recipe from The Best-Ever Wheat and Gluten Free Baking Book but a change from my usual muffins.

Sorghum is grain commonly used in South Asian, where it is known as jowar (see my page on gluten-free flours in Indian cooking). Prior to my interest in gluten-free flours, I had only heard of sorghum in the context of the Zhang Yimou movie “Red Sorghum” 高梁, starring Gong Li, which takes place around a distillery for sorghum liquor.

These scones have a hard, crisp shell, perhaps reminiscent of rock buns, quite different from English scones. Unlike cake-like muffins which can be heated up in a microwave, wrapped in a paper towel, these scones need to be reheated in an oven bring out the crisp texture of the crust.

Gluten-free sorghum scones

Gluten-free sorghum scones

I made some tweaks to the recipe in the book to omit cumin, salt and sugar. Below are the ingredients I used.

DRY INGREDIENTS

1 1/2 cups (175g) sorghum flour
1/ 2 cup (60g) tapioca flour
1/2 cup (80g) brown rice flour
1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp xantham or guar gum
1/2 cup raisins

WET INGREDIENTS

4 Tbs (55g) butter
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup (160g) plain yoghurt or 1/2 cup (120ml) milk

1) Preheat oven to 230°C.
2) Mix dry ingredients.
3) Beat the butter with hand mixer as if creaming (the original recipe involves creaming butter and 30g sugar).
4) Add beaten eggs and yoghurt to butter.
5) Add dry mixture to wet mixture and stir until just combined.
6) Stir in raisins.
7) Spoon the dough into large mounds onto a greased baking sheet, as I did. Alternatively, pat into a large round to be cut into wedges after baking.
8) Bake for 12 to 15 mins. Be careful they don’t burn. You might want to turn down the oven temperature halfway through or cover the scones with tin foil.

Verdict: Super! Tastes great, nice texture, easy to make. Delicious plain or with butter or cream and jam.

6 Responses

  1. I have been reading your post . I am gluten intolerant too. I have tried some GF baking.. Mostly not very successful. I would like to try your recipes but first can you tell me where you buy your sorghum flour. I dont seem to be able to find them. I have searched for it in organic store, NTUC, Phoon Huat. I dont seem to be able to find them. Pls adv.

  2. Dear Nancy,

    Don’t worry — it’s easy to find gluten-free flours in Singapore, just go to Mustafa (or other Indian grocery store). See my post:

    http://mainmainmasakmasak.wordpress.com/2008/10/18/gluten-free-flours-in-indian-cooking/

    Good luck!

  3. Hi, just wondering where I can get guar gum?

    • Sorry, I’m not sure. It also depends which country you live in. Maybe other readers here can help out with shopping suggestions for guar gum?

  4. Hi there,
    Can u tell me where I can get xantham gum or guar gum in Singapore? The only one I’ve seen is Xantham gum from Bob’s Red Mill and boy is it expensive! Do you know of less expensive alternatives?

    (I’m also beginning to experiment with a greater variety of grains in my cooking)

    • I’d also like to know of cheaper alternatives as I’ve only seen the Bob’s Red Mill one, which is, as you say, rather expensive. if anyone has shopping tips, please do share, thanks :)!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

