Mugicha

Does it not taste like coffee ^_^? For caffeine-sensitive people like me, mugicha, hojicha and kukicha are great.

* I’m curious to know if Japanese and Korean roasted barley teas are different?
* Here’s an interesting map showing how many people in the different parts of Japan add sugar to their mugicha! No sugar for me of course.
* Read about mugicha from Maki at Just Hungry.

I just made 2 litres of mugicha following the Japanese instructions on the back of the packet:
50g roasted barley grains
2 litres of water
– in a pot
– bring to boil on stove
– once water boils, turn off heat
– leave for 10 mins
– strain off the mugicha
– chill in frige

Perhaps tomorrow I’ll try this mugicha jelly recipe ^_^.

Check out also Korean roasted corn tea, oksusucha.

7 Responses

  1. cool! i might look out for this next time i head to chinatown. thanks for the tip :)

  2. i’ve just got some. but i cant read the instructions. from the pictures it seems that it is a cold brewing method.
    what do you think?

  3. Could well be. Mugicha often comes in clever long, finger-shaped tea bags for cold-brewing, just pop the long teabag into a PET bottle full of water, screw the top on to hold the teabag in place (so it doesn’t drop into the bottle), put it into the fridge to steep. I can’t remember what’s the correct length of time for cold-brewing mugicha, but do follow the packet instructions. I used to not follow the instructions and my Korean friends told me I was brewing it too strong.

  4. it turns out i dont like mugicha! maybe i need to dilute it..
    first impressions: seems full of heat to me… even when cold.

  5. In the macrobiotic book I’ve been using, ‘The Self-Healing Cookbook’ by Kristina Turner, it’s listed as a neutral food, neither yin nor yang. Michio Kushi’s ‘The Macrobiotic Way’ lists it as one of the few beverages which are suitable for everyday use. My personal take on it is that barley is naturally yin, but the roasting process adds more yang to it, thus neutralising the food.
    I love the roasted smell/taste which is reminiscent of coffee! If you keep it too long (even in the fridge), I found it turns sour. Best drink within a day.

  6. […] no-caffeine teas: genmaicha, kukicha, houjicha; and teas not made from the camellia sinensus plant: mugicha, Chinese chrysanthemum tea or herbal teas. Korean grain teas are also not made from camellia […]

  7. […] Yesterday morning I made mugicha agar-agar. […]

Leave a Reply

