Improved recipe for gluten-free, yeast-free bean bread

I loved this recipe so much that I made it again with twice the quantities and with some tweaks to try and improve the result.

I modified the quantities of ingredients given in the recipe in my last posting. The quantities this time I used were:

FOUR FLOUR BEAN MIX
chickpea/garbanzo bean flour – 1/3 part
green/mung bean flour – 1/3 part
sorghum/ jowar flour – 1/3 part
tapioca starch – 1 part
cornstarch – 1 part

DRY INGREDIENTS
Four Flour Bean Mix (see above) – 4 cups
Xantham gum – 3 tsp
Baking soda – 1 tsp
Baking powder – 2 tsp
Salt – 1 tsp

[omitted brown sugar and egg replacer]

WET INGREDIENTS
Eggs – 4
Butter, melted – 6 Tbs
Light argave syrup [in place of honey] – 2 Tbs
Buttermilk – 1 1/2 cups
Water about 1/4 cup

METHOD: Muffin method

Having had problems with tunneling of large airholes and heavy texture the last time, I did away with the use of an electric mixer to avoid over-beating. I made this in exactly the same way I make muffins – quick and easy, by hand.

1) Sift all dry ingredients thoroughly.

2) Mix wet ingredients.

3) Mix dry and wet ingredients until just incorporated. Do not overmix.

4) Pour into greased baking tins. Do not fill tins more than half-full as the batter will rise about three times its volume. This happened even though I reduced the amount of baking powder to the same quantity I use for my muffins.

5) Bake at 180°C for 55 to 60 mins, covering with aluminum foil after 30 mins.

When the loaves come out the oven, as they cool, they will rapidly deflate (see photo above). I’ve never seen this happen before with other baked goods. However, the final result was still pretty good. The photo below illustrates the light crumb texture that looks remarkably like ‘real’ bread.

3 Responses

  1. Thanks niceties, I have found the flours. I am about to make the GF yeast free bean bread but I couldn’t figure out how you arrived at 4 cups flour when I only see 3 cups. 1/3 part (x3) isn’t it 1 pt which is 1cup. Together with tapioca and cornstarch 1 cup each. Total 3 cups. I search thru your post but couldn’t find any explanation. Pls adv.

    • Hi Nancy,

      The flour mix recipe is in *parts* and the bread recipe refers to *cups*.

      Hence you can make up a larger amount of flour mix, say two or three times the amount (you can set 1 *part* to be 2 cups, for example) and store it in a box to be ready for use at any time in any recipe. Scoop out the appropriate amount for individual recipes each time.

      Hope it’s clear now. All the best!

  2. This is an awesome recipe! I just tried it with a couple of changes and it was delicious, soft, and not crumbly, which as we know is a miracle for gluten free bread ;)

    Thanks!

Leave a comment